Fourth of July Barbeque Fare

In honor of the Fourth of July, the Try It Tuesday recipes (yes, I’m doing two!) are both great options to bring to a potluck picnic.
We got our first grill and invited friends over to help us break it in. I made these quick baked beans in a Crockpot for our inaugural barbeque. They tasted sweet and rich and the sauce was just thick enough to work. It was a last-minute get-together so I didn’t have time to soak dried beans. Instead, I used two cans of white beans (any variety works) that I drained then put in a Crockpot – I needed the oven for the second recipe I’ll be sharing. I made the bacon in the microwave and chopped it into pieces. After making the bacon, I used the grease to saute the onions. Finally, I used 1 teaspoon brown mustard instead of 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard. I’d also suggest reducing the molasses from three Tablespoons to two because the flavor of molasses overtook everything else. In the Crockpot, two hours on high was the required cooking time, but you can also follow the original recipe and use your oven.

The second recipe is for pretzle-crusted brownies, and yes, they are as addictive as they sound! The sugar and butter in the pretzle crust melted together around the pretzels to form a crunchy salted caramel flavor that complimented the gooey chocolate brownies perfectly. The recipe didn’t make a lot of icing; in fact, it was almost more of a thick glaze. Trust the recipe though. It’s just the right amount for this fun dessert. The only caveat I have (other than bring this to a gathering with a crowd so you don’t eat the whole pan yourself) is to grease the pan. I had a really hard time getting the brownies out.

Leave a Reply

