Oatmeal Two Ways

Usually, I share my experiences making other people’s recipes, but this week I’m using my own recipes for my two favorite kinds of oatmeal. Most people eat oatmeal for breakfast, but I love savory apple, cheddar, and rosemary oatmeal for lunch. This is actually a copycat recipe. Quaker included this flavor in their Best Bowl competition boxes, but I’ve never seen it (or the other flavors in the running) in stores since the end of the voting. Therefore, I decided to make my own, less artificial-tasting version. I top it with eggs over easy to add some protein and a creamy “sauce” thanks to the yolks. There’s also some great texture thanks to chunks of real apple. All in all, this dish satisfies without being heavy.  The second way I prepare oatmeal is with peanut butter and cocoa powder for an indulgent but not overly sweet bedtime snack. I’m nursing a hungry infant, so my body appreciates the slow-digesting protein and fiber at night. The combination of chocolate and peanut butter also helps curb my tendency to snack more than I need to before bed.  

Each recipe works at any time of day and yields 1 serving. Enjoy!

Apple, Cheddar, and Rosemary Oatmeal

Ingredients

1 packet plain oatmeal

1/3 cup apple juice (depending on the consistency you want for your oatmeal, you may need more liquid; I like some thickness)

½ small apple, chopped

1 large pinch dried rosemary

Salt, pepper, and sharp shredded cheddar to taste

Directions

Put the oatmeal in a bowl and season with salt and pepper.

Combine the juice, apples, and rosemary in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and boil 2 minutes. Use a spoon to keep the apple chunks in the saucepan while pouring the liquid into the oatmeal. Let sit for 1 minute, then add the apples and shredded cheddar. Top with eggs cooked to your preference if you’d like to add some protein.

Chocolate-Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Ingredients

1 packet plain oatmeal

1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder

2 teaspoon brown sugar

1 to 1 ½ Tablespoons peanut butter

½ Tablespoon semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

Directions

Boil 1/3 cup water (or a little more or less depending on the consistency you prefer for your oatmeal). Meanwhile, pour the oatmeal, cocoa powder, and brown sugar into a bowl. Stir in the boiling water and let sit for 1 minute. Add the peanut butter and stir to incorporate. Top with chocolate chips if you’re using them.

Leave a Reply

