Tuna Pesto Pasta

The Try It Tuesday recipes have been rather sweet lately, so I decided to try a pasta that doesn’t have red sauce for lunch since my husband wouldn’t be home to complain and my son always eats peanut butter toast with gusto. Not only was I ready for something fresh in every sense of the word, but I also have canned tuna that only I will eat. I flipped through some magazines and researched pesto recipes online, then I combined a few recipes to come up with this Tuna Pesto Pasta. This yields 2 servings. Ingredients

1 ½ cups farfalle pasta

1 5-ounce can tuna in water (you can drain it or not; if not, you just add a little less pasta water to toss)

1 bouquet fresh basil (cannot substitute dry)

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 clove garlic

½ cup sliced almonds

3 Tablespoons olive oil

2 Tablespoons water

¾ cup to 1 cup of cooking water reserved from the pasta

Directions

Boil pasta according to package directions or according to your preference (I generally only cook my pasta 8-9 minutes). Meanwhile, drain the tuna and put in a medium bowl. Set aside.

Put the basil, salt, pepper, garlic, and almonds into food processor. Process until finely chopped then add the olive oil and 2 tablespoons water while the processor is on. Pour into the bowl with the tuna.

Drain the cooked pasta, reserving some of the cooking water. Fold pasta into tuna and pesto; add cooking water a little at a time, stirring gently between additions until the sauce coats the pasta to your liking. I tend to use a little less water than recipes suggest.

I really enjoyed the freshness of the pesto and between the almonds and tuna I felt like this packs a protein punch. I also love the ease of prep: no time-consuming chopping and I think this was ready in under 15 minutes. I may have to try other versions of pesto and replace the tuna with canned chicken or turkey to see if I can’t get my boys (a.k.a the hubby and preschooler) to try it. As I was eating, the only thing I’d consider changing for my own taste buds would be to add some quartered cherry or grape tomatoes. I am not a tomato person, but every now and then, the sweetness and acidity of the smaller varieties are a welcome shot of flavor and color in a dish.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this recipe since this is the first time I’ve made pesto. Otherwise bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

