Banana Baked Oatmeal

My family is moving in less than a week, so I am (still) doing some serious cabinet cleaning. I have planned every meal around using the maximum amount of food in our cabinets, fridge, and freezer before May 2. That was the motivation behind today’s Banana Baked Oatmeal: I had 1/3 of a big canister of rolled oats and 5 quickly ripening bananas to use. This recipe allowed me to use nearly all of the oats and two of the bananas… and now my son, Vincent and I have breakfast for the next few days.

I woke up earlier than my son for the second morning in a row. It’s weird. Unfortunately, it wasn’t early enough. As I was putting the pan of oatmeal into the oven, Vincent was pulling the peanut butter out of the cabinet and asking for toast. By the time his breakfast was made and eaten, I was taking mine out of the oven. Luckily, Vincent can’t resist mooching Mom and Dad’s breakfast.

Once the oatmeal was cool, I gave Vincent a bite. He made a face, then asked for another bite. Then another. Then another. I got the toddler seal of approval! Quite honestly, the recipe gets my approval as well. I didn’t sprinkle sugar on top and broil for an additional 3-4 minutes like the recipe suggested and I’m glad I didn’t. The oatmeal was just sweet enough thanks to the super ripe banana I used. It also was not as thick as traditionally prepared oatmeal. In fact, the texture fell somewhere between oatmeal (it does stick together) and granola. I tried pouring a little milk over the top like another recipe for baked oatmeal suggested, which made it even better.

If you’d like to try Banana Baked Oatmeal for yourself, here’s the link to the original recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/baked-banana-oatmeal-476873

I replaced the white sugar with brown sugar (again, I’m clearing out the food in my cabinets), and as I mentioned before, did not put any additional sugar on top to broil a few extra minutes. I also did not have any vanilla extract left; however, the flavor of the banana baked oatmeal was still soft and nicely rounded out even without the vanilla. I hope you enjoy this breakfast as much as I did this morning!

Leave a Reply

