Fruity Pebble Macarons

My mother-in-law and I bond over cooking shows. We both enjoy baking and talking about what we would make in the contestants’ place. In our discussions, we keep coming back to macarons. While I’ve eaten many macarons, neither of us has made them… until yesterday!

A few weeks ago I happened across a recipe for Fruity Pebbles macarons. As a kid, I loved this cereal and this recipe finally motivated me to get the ingredients (and a kitchen scale) to make them. 

This week, my in-laws came to visit and we had our time in the kitchen. 

For a first try, I’m pleased with how our experiment turned out. The shells had a nice chewy inner texture like they are supposed to. The outside didn’t puff up quite like they’re supposed to, but I don’t think I got the Fruity Pebbles quite as finely ground as I needed to and we didn’t use the dehydrated powdered egg whites.

 The flavor conjured up memories of Saturday morning cartoons and cereal on the living room floor. However, these are a tad too sweet. Even my preschooler couldn’t finish his cookie. Perhaps these just need to be made into mini macarons. 

If you’re interested in trying the recipe, it’s in a cook book called Cereal Sweets & Treats by Jessica Sergarra. 

I’ve heard time and again how delicate a difficult macarons are to make, but my mother-in-law and I had fun making these. Despite the attention and precision called for by macarons, I’d be willing to try them again. Next time around, I’ll try more traditional flavors for my macarons: almond shells and chocolate or cherry filling, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

