Banana Chocolate Chip Bars

Oh, it’s obvious I’m still getting back on the swing of things; I forgot that yesterday was Tuesday so I didn’t post.

This is a recipe from November during my first few days in our new house. I had limited cooking supplies. Just to drive home this point, I mixed up the batter for these in a large saucepan, not a mixing bowl and I mashed the bananas by smushing them between my fingers. I now understand why babies who are learning to eat big-people food find it so fun to squeeze everything between their little fingers.

Now for the recipe itself. As I was looking over my box of Jiffy baking mix for a muffin recipe, I found one for banana nut loaf. I didn’t have a loaf pan or all of the ingredients, but I was able to modify the recipe to fit my pantry contents and my not-quite-9×13 inch jelly roll pan. Here is what I came up with:

Ingredients

2 cups Jiffy Baking Mix (You might be able to use another brand, but it would have to be labeled something like “all-purpose” and not instant or complete)

¾ cup sugar

¼ cup canola or vegetable oil

2 eggs

2 very ripe bananas, mashed

1/3 cup mini, semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a jellyroll pan with parchment paper. Put all ingredients except the chocolate chips into a mixing bowl and stir until well combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake in preheated oven for 18-20 minutes.

Allow to cool before cutting and serving.

These bars have a light, cakey texture and a subtle banana flavor. They are a great snack with a glass of milk or even a good breakfast food that can be served next to yogurt or spread with peanut butter. Of course, my son loved this sweet treat and although I prepared these by myself, the banana chocolate chip bars would be a great way to bake with small children because of the simplicity of the recipe.

Enjoy both the making and the munching of these deliciously simple little squares!

Leave a Reply

