Old-Fashioned Sour Cream Donuts… In a Waffle Iron!

In case you’ve missed the promotions at your neighborhood donut shop, it’s National Donut Day. Since I had some sour cream left over from a tasty corn hot dish (think casserole or spoon pudding) I made last week, I decided to try a recipe for sour cream donuts. These are possibly my favorite type of donuts. I definitely prefer cake to yeast and I find traditional glazed and powered sugar donuts overly sweet.

There was only one immediately apparent problem with the recipe: it called for frying. If you’ve read this blog before, you know I favor simple cooking methods. Frying just doesn’t seem simple to this Northern girl, though I admit that this is probably just lack of familiarity with the technique. Luckily, I remembered seeing a recipe for donuts in a waffle iron cookbook, so I went for it. You can find the recipe for the sour cream donuts here at the Handle the Heat blog.

If you want to make these in a waffle iron, you can do the following:

The original recipe only uses egg yolks. I found that the dough wasn’t wet enough to get all of my dry ingredients incorporated, so I added some of the egg whites. However, I didn’t read the instructions closely enough at the beginning (rushing to finish during nap time) and whisked the sugar in with the dry ingredients instead of creaming it with the butter. This (and the fact that I used all-purpose flour instead of cake flour) may account for the dryness. Therefore, don’t add the yolks until you see how your dough turns out. I also didn’t let the dough rest for an hour (once again, nap time). Once your dough has a sticky texture with a consistency somewhere between cookie dough and a thick cake batter, roll it into golf ball-sized rounds. Heat your waffle iron then coat lightly with cooking spray. Place one ball in the middle of each section. This will create diamond-shaped donuts that are slightly smaller than Eggo waffles. Close the iron and allow to cook for the preset time. Remove to a cooling rack and repeat. 

These were best hot off the waffle iron because they have a crispness outside that goes away as they cool. They’re tasty reheated in a toaster, too, and they crisp back up nicely. I broke mine into pieces and tried various toppings: a dusting of powdered sugar, store-bought icing, peanut butter, and plain. My favorite was the powdered sugar. It added just the right amount of sweetness and paired great with my afternoon coffee pick-me-up. The touch of nutmeg in the dough (I opted for 1/4 teaspoon) made these wonuts (doffles?) great plain, too.

So are these as good as traditionally fried and glazed sour cream donuts? No, the waffle iron smashes out sun fluffiness, but they are easier, taste as good, and contain less fat. I will definitely make these again.

Leave a Reply

