Baked Penne with Sausage and Apple

Without meaning to, I actually redeemed my homemade macaroni and cheese fail with this recipe! Unfortunately, providing a link won’t work this time because I got this recipe from a recent Family Circle magazine and when I try to accesd an online version, I get a page to sign up for a subscription. If you already have a subscription to this magazine, or if you can find a way to get to the recipe (or something similar) online, I highly recommend it. This was a crowd pleaser in my house. 

The recipe has a nice mix of flavors with the apples, onions, kielbasa, and honey mustard sauce. The only modification I made was to replace the shredded Gouda with an Italian cheese blend in the hopes of making this more husband friendly… and it worked. After two bites, my husband said that if I want to make homemade macaroni and cheese, I should use this recipe without the apple and sausage. The texture was less rich and creamy than most mac ‘n’ cheese dishes and had a delightfully crunchy layer of cheese on top. In fact, the bites just under that crust were the best of the bunch. 

Interestingly, this was presented by the magazine as a side-dish, but with the kielbasa and cheese, it was hearty enough to be a main dish. I served it with green beans and apple slices. My son was a little unsure of the new tastes, but he ate without fighting, so I consider that a win. We will definitely be eating this in our household again soon! 

Leave a Reply

