Grapefruit Marmalade

As promised, I’m doing another citrus recipe this week — this time, a grapefruit marmalade. I love grapefruit and grapefruit juice. The bright flavor really refreshes at this normally gray time of year. The acidity also feels cleansing after the holiday indulgences in December. Needless to say, finding the recipe in the January 2017 Family Circle magazine motivated me to pick up a few small Mason jars and head into the kitchen. This is the first jelly or jam I’ve made since my Grandma Jean and I attempted sugar-free peach jam when I was eleven. I had been diabetic for about a year and she invited me to come help her make the jam. We spent all afternoon in the steamy kitchen and followed the recipe exactly only to end up with jars of slimy, bitter, inedible goop. Artificial sweeteners have come a long way in the past 20 years, but those of the time were not meant to be cooked, as my grandma learned after calling the sweetener company in question. Although it wasn’t specified in the recipe, only their liquid version would have given the desired results. Needless to say, that awful experience (no, really… it was so bad that Grandma drew little skulls and crossbones on each lid before disposing of them), I haven’t done much jelly making, and I felt a little nervous about trying this recipe.

Obviously, I did try, and I was pleased with the results. I had a print copy of the magazine, but can find a link to the recipe here:

http://www.familycircle.com/recipes/ingredient/star-ingredient-grapefruit/?page=3

The only changes I made were to halve the recipe (I’m the only one in my house who eats grapefruit) and to use dried thyme instead of fresh. Even halved, the recipe made more marmalade than I expected (I had an extra jar of it). I also found that I could hardly taste the thyme, possibly because I didn’t use fresh. I didn’t miss it, however, and don’t plan to use any when I make this again.

Since I couldn’t eat 3 jars of marmalade on my own (this recipe doesn’t give instructions for traditional canning that allows the contents to be kept for long periods of time), I took it to the women’s group meeting at my church. We ate it on wheat crackers with plain cream cheese. It was a cool, satisfying snack that got nothing but positive reviews. Now, I need to find more people who like grapefruit so I can make this again and share!

Leave a Reply

