Beef, Stout, and Potato Pot Pie

Normally, I would neither write nor post at this hour of the day. But since my son has decided that 5:30 a.m. is a good time to wake up and is now happily reading some of the many books he got for Christmas, it seems like a prime time to blog. Maybe that will leave me time to nap later– hey! We are supposed to be hopeful during the Christmas season, right?

I tried a tasty, new recipe last night for braised short rib, stout, and potato pot pies. You can find Martha Stewart’s original recipe here: http://www.marthastewart.com/854493/braised-short-rib-stout-and-potato-potpies

Honestly, my motivation to try the recipe was to begin the process of convincing my husband, who grimaces at the mention of pot pie (which I love), that it can be a savor-worthy dinner. This dish doesn’t use the two elements that turn my husband off in most pot pies: pie crust or creamy sauce, so it’s a logical place to start. 

The beef, stout, and potato pot pie has a more complicated process than I usually choose for recipes (stovetop and two different oven sessions). However, the simple ingredients and rich gravy the beef stews in make the extra steps worth the extra effort. 

I did make some adjustments to the recipe. First, I didn’t use short ribs. I had chopped a beef roast into stew meat to freeze after my last trip to the grocery store, so I used a portion of that. It ended up being between a pound and a half to two pounds of beef. Consequently, I reduced the amount of stout to one and a half bottles. I also didn’t use the cipollini onions (veggie chunks, tasty though they may be, don’t go over well in my household). Finally, I thought I had rosemary in my pantry, but didn’t, so I replaced it with 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning. 

My husband and father-in-law gave me plenty of compliments on this filling dish. They seemed to especially enjoy the potato “crust.” I will probably increase the amount of potatoes next time, maybe with a double layer on top… As for me, I loved how tender the beef was. My son actually seemed to enjoy the beef as well. 

Speaking of my son, he’s starting to get into things other than his toys (like my full glass of ice water), so I’m done for now. I highly recommend giving this recipe a try!

Leave a Reply

