Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

This past weekend was a busy one. Between going to doughnut socials at church and hanging out with friends, my little family seemed to be munching on sweet treats throughout the entire weekend. I’d like to present one of those treats a bonus recipe because the apple dump cake I made for a potluck tasted as good as it looked. The only modification that I made was to this delicious and easy dessert was to sprinkle a few pecans on top. Check it out here: http://www.ourtableforseven.com/2011/09/moms-apple-cake.html

20161112_121608

Needless to say, by Sunday evening I was in the mood to try an easy, hearty dish that was in no way sweet. Since both my husband and my son enjoy boxed macaroni and cheese, I decided to test a recipe that would allow me to make it homemade and in approximately the same amount of time. In the end, I chose a recipe that didn’t use Velveeta (my husband won’t touch the stuff), that purported to appeal to kids, and that would take only about 5-10 minutes longer than the boxed variety to prepare. You can find the recipe I used here: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/bistro-mac—cheese

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the prep time listed on the website was accurate. The preparation is also easy, but because of the amount of attention required at your stovetop throughout the entire process, I have two recommendations. First, premeasure anything you can so that you can just reach and dump when the time is right. Second, if you have kids, get them occupied before you begin. Burning the cheese to the bottom of your pan would ruin the dish.

When I took my trial bite, I had a mixed reaction: Mmmmm! I love this! And Ohhhh, I don’t think my hubby will go for this! From the minute I saw the gorgonzola cheese and sour cream in the ingredients list, I should have known: too “weird” and too rich. For those of you unfamiliar with cheeses, gorgonzola is like a mild bleu cheese – so if your family likes bleu cheese dressing and dips, this might work for you.

Despite my skepticism, I asked my husband to try a bite before he made himself an alternative meal. I also gave a small bite to my son. Both of my boys reacted with an “ummmm, no.” My son even fished the single macaroni noodle out of his mouth to throw away. French toast and single-serving boxed mac ‘n’ cheese saved dinner for my husband and son.

Even though I enjoyed every bite of this dish, I won’t yet add it to my recipe box. By replacing the gorgonzola and sour cream with an additional ½ cup each of shredded mozzarella and cheddar, I might be able to use the recipe as a basis for a future attempt at homemade macaroni and cheese. However, that will have to wait because I’m not sure my family will taste anything other than boxed mac ‘n’ cheese for quite a while.20161114_112626

Leave a Reply

