Dutch Apple Pie Cookies

Well, folks, it was a crazy week! My son and I arrived in Georgia last Thursday… Our household goods were delivered on Monday and Tuesday, and my husband arrived home on Tuesday night. Soooo…. Try It Tuesday is a little late this week, and I’m using a recipe that I wrote up about 2 weeks ago.

One evening, not too long ago, my dad rustled through the evening paper (yes, he still reads a printed newspaper every night) and suddenly cleared his throat. “Maybe you could try one of these for Try It Tuesday,” he said, handing me a page from the paper and raising a hopeful eyebrow. The title of this particular recipe section was “Scrumptious Ways to Eat Apples for Dessert,” and really, at this time of year, who could refuse such a request?

So, this week, I gave the Dutch Apple Pie Cookies recipe a try. In the original recipe, the streusel had oats, making it more of a crisp to my way of thinking, and I did have to modify it since anything containing oats makes this pregnant lady really sick. In any case, here’s the recipe that was printed in a recent edition of the Butler Eagle (sorry, I don’t have the date… I didn’t realize it wasn’t printed at the corner of the pages), which listed the author as Lovely Little Kitchen. I am only including the part of the recipe that I used. I will include my recipe for streusel topping below the directions.

Ingredients

1 roll of refrigerated pie dough

5 small Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and diced finely

¼ cup granulated sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

2 Tablespoons lemon juice

1 Tablespoon corn starch

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray the wells of a standard size muffin tin with nonstick spray. Roll out dough onto a lightly floured surface, and cut out circles about 2 inches in diameter. Gather and re-roll unused dough and cut additional circles. […] Place the circles in the bottom of each muffin well.

Add the apples, sugar, cinnamon, lemon juice, and cornstarch to a medium saucepan. Cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally for about 5-10 minutes until the apples have softened slightly and the juices begin to thicken. Remove from heat.

Add about one tablespoon of the apple filling on top of each circle of pie dough.

In a medium bowl, mix the ingredients for the streusel topping with a fork or your fingers until a large crumbs form. Spoon the crumbs over the apple filling (These instructions mine).

Bake for 17-19 minutes. Allow the apple pie cookies to cool in the muffin tin for at least 10-15 minutes before removing. […] Cool on a wire rack.

Streusel Topping Ingredients

4 Tbsp flour

2 Tbsp butter, softened or slightly melted

2 Tbsp brown sugar

¼ tsp cinnamon

Really, this was an enjoyable recipe to put together. It would have been made easier if I had a better apple peeler, but I needed a little stress relief after my son fought naptime for over an hour. Chopping apples, mixing, and measuring provides just that for me.

The end result was something like pecan tassies in terms of the look and feel of the cookies, perhaps in part because I pressed the dough a little up the sides of the muffin tins to ensure the filling wouldn’t fall out or stick too much to the sides. I found the balance of sweet, tart, and spice flavors to be perfect. Finally, I cooked my cookies on the low end of the suggested time (I always do), but going the full 19 minutes might have made getting the cookies out of the muffin tins easier.

I ended up only needing 4 apples as mine were medium-sized, not small. Also, the original recipe said it yielded 2 ½ dozen cookies. I only got 1 dozen and I cannot for the life of me figure out where that difference comes from.

If you’re ready for a recipe that will get you in the mood for the season, this would suit your needs pretty perfectly!

Leave a Reply

