Pumpkin Soup

On one of the recent rainy afternoons we’ve had, I decided that my son Vincent and I should do some baking. The coolness of the afternoon hinted at the coming autumn, so I decided on a family favorite: pumpkin snickerdoodles! This is one cookie that my cake-loving husband will actually eat. The only problem with this recipe is that it only uses ½ cup pumpkin puree, leaving me with about 2/3 of a can of pumpkin puree in the fridge every time. Sometimes, I make pumpkin muffins, but this time I felt more like soup. 

I’ve made pumpkin soup before – and I’ve tried other people’s pumpkin soup – but I’ve never been completely satisfied. Either the taste or the instructions have been too complicated. I reviewed a number of recipes online, but nothing seemed to fit what I was looking for. Finally, I decided to take the elements of a few different recipes and make my own. Here’s what I came up with:

Ingredients

1 teaspoon olive oil

½ sweet or yellow onion

1 clove garlic

2/3 can pumpkin puree

1 can (14.5 ounces) chicken or vegetable stock

Freshly ground pepper to taste

1 pinch nutmeg

Cream to taste (I used about ½ cup)

Directions

Heat the oil in a soup pan over medium heat. Grate the onion and the garlic clove (use the smallest part of a box grater) and add to the hot oil. Stir and allow to cook for 3 to 4 minutes. Add the pumpkin puree and stir. Allow to cook 1-2 minutes. Stir in the stock, pepper, and nutmeg, and simmer for 6-8 minutes. Turn off the heat and stir in the cream. Serve immediately.

My mom and I enjoyed this fantastic soup for lunch. The onion and garlic balanced out the unique and easily overpowering taste of pumpkin. The nutmeg and pepper did nothing more than highlight the other flavors in the soup, which was exactly what I wanted.

My favorite pairing for savory pumpkin is bleu cheese, but I think I’m the only family member who will eat such a strong cheese. I do love how the sharpness of the cheese cuts through the pumpkin – and if you have crusty French bread to smear it on you’ve got a little piece of heaven. My mom decided to shred some smoked cheddar into her soup and topped it off with asiago cheese bagel pieces instead. Yum!

If you’re looking for a fresh, simple, and light lunch this fall, try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

