Ambrosia Salad

We had the Eckstein Family Reunion this weekend and I needed a good recipe for something to bring to the giant picnic. Usually, I prefer to bake something sweet. For the last family gathering, I made Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Brownies. However, I haven’t been feeling much like rich sweets recently. It must be the heatwave… So I was at a bit of a loss as to what to bring. At least, I was lost until I started scanning through all of the links to recipes I’ve saved to my Facebook account. I came across a recipe for Ambrosia salad and it seemed like a light, sweet way to end a picnic meal. As a bonus, no ovens, microwaves, stovetops, or other heat sources were required! The link to the blog post with the recipe can be found below:

http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/ambrosia-salad-recipe/20160812_170005

The dessert lived up to my hopes. I loved the creamy vanilla coconut base, lightened by whipped topping and marshmallows. Moreover, because I made it ahead, the maraschino cherries imparted a light cherry flavor to the whole dish as it sat in the fridge overnight. Moreover, as the author of mybakingaddiction.com pointed out, this recipe is a classic crowd-pleaser.

This is the first recipe in quite a while for which I have no tweaks, additions, or suggestions to make. Yum!

Leave a Reply

