Oven-Baked Eggs

A fellow blogger is my inspiration for today’s Try It Tuesday recipe. I say inspiration because I took some liberties with the recipe in the hopes of making it a bit healthier… and of using up some of the left-over veggies in our fridge. So, here’s the link to the original recipe: https://sourdoughmovement.com/2016/07/13/creative-and-tasty-way-to-use-stale-bread/

And here’s my version:

Ingredients

3 slices of your favorite bread (I generally always use wheat)

Your choice of a variety of chopped veggies (anything that would go well in an omelet)

6 eggs

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 Fahrenheit. Spray your muffin tins with cooking spray.

Cut out circles from the slices of bread. Place the bread rounds in the bottoms of your muffin tins. Sprinkle your chopped veggies on top of the bread.

Lightly beat each egg individually in a small bowl before pouring one egg into each muffin tin. (Alternatively, you could crack the egg and add it directly to each tin if you don’t want scrambled eggs).

Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Cook at 400 degrees for 18-20 minutes.

Now, I must say that this recipe needs some tweaking. I didn’t particularly enjoy the bread at the bottom of the muffin tins. It didn’t get crispy like toast; instead, it was rather tough. I also think I needed to add the salt when I beat the eggs so it would be more evenly distributed throughout each bite. Also, this may have worked well with jumbo muffin tins. As it was, my eggs were overflowing the individual cups. Finally, detaching the individual servings from and cleaning the tins was a bit difficult. Next time I might try using foil muffin cups as liners.

On the positive side – yes, there are positives in spite of all of my tweaking – my son seemed to like the eggs pretty well. As many parents know, toddler friendly protein is something of a holy grail. Most seem to be happy with peanut butter, chicken nuggets, and cheese sticks. I also truly enjoyed the mix of veggies I used. Some of my egg cups had spinach and stewed tomatoes; others had spinach and chunks of creamy avocado. I wasn’t sure how I’d like warm avocado. I’ve eaten warm avocado brownies and room-temperature avocado chocolate pudding and the flavor of the avocado didn’t work until these foods were cold. However, in the eggs, it paired well with the spinach and I enjoyed each creamy bite.

The creaminess actually brings me to one final tweak. I think I appreciated the texture of the avocado so much because the eggs seemed a little tough and over-cooked. I’d decrease the oven temperature to 375 (or cook a few minutes less). I’ll definitely try this recipe again, but I’ll probably wait for cooler weather to do so. That was a hot oven on such a steamy day!

Leave a Reply

