Philly Cheesesteak Sliders 

So I must admit that sometimes, I make new recipes and write up blog posts on days other than Tuesday. I then save those posts for a rainy day – or a day when my toddler has been testing my patience since waking up at 6:30 and has a meltdown just before dinner 11 hours later. This was one of those days; it’s also one of those posts…


​My husband’s family consists mostly of carnivores. Beef tops the list of choice foods and the preferred vegetables (onions, green peppers) pair perfectly with beef. I, however, do not enjoy cooking hamburgers or steaks (though if anyone knows a great recipe for either of these, I’ll try them). I struggled to find easy, beefy, light meals to add to the menu while I was staying with them until I remembered seeing & saving a video for Philly Cheesesteak Sliders:

https://www.facebook.com/MrCookingPanda/videos/1200160193342004/

After a busy day running around with the family and eating a heavy lunch out, I decided to try some fruit and the Philly Cheesesteak Sliders for a late, easy dinner. I simplified the recipe a bit by using reduced-fat roast beef lunchmeat instead of cooking up steak like the recipe instructs. The sweet Hawaiian rolls complemented the roast beef nicely. I also appreciated the combination of textures: the veggies remain crisp, the cheese gets melty, and the rolls take on a nice crunch on the top and bottom. Now, if you aren’t a mayo fan, skip it in this recipe because the flavor does cut through. I’m undecided on whether or not I’ll use the mayo the next time I make these Philly Cheesesteak Sliders, and there will be a next time.

Leave a Reply

