Peach Melba Ice Cream Cake

So I’m doing an extra post this week because on Tuesday, I tried another new recipe: Peaches-and-Cream Ice Cream Cake. However, since I made it for my mom’s birthday, I didn’t actually get a chance to eat it until today. 

As I made my purchases for this cake, I had every intention of following the recipe from Martha Stewart exactly. After all, who better to tell you how to make a delicious cake than Martha herself? Sadly, my shopping hit some hiccoughs. First, I couldn’t find peach sorbet at any store in the immediate area. Which lead me to go from a Peaches-and-Cream Ice Cream Cake to a Peach Melba Ice Cream Cake by replacing the peach sorbet with raspberry sherbet. Second, I had an oddly difficult time (given the season) in finding nicely ripe peaches. I thought the ones I bought would ripen in time, but they didn’t. Consequently, instead of making my own, I used store-bought peach ice cream and used the fresh peaches for garnish. 

These forced modifications made me all the more determined to exactly follow the directions for the buttermilk cake base. Frankly, I’m glad I did. My mom is a great person who deserves a special dessert on her birthday. Although the process was more complicated than I usually prefer in any given recipe, the result was a cake with a light, spongy, almost angel food-like texture and a sweet, full flavor. Ladies and gentlemen, I have finally found a homemade cake recipe that beats a boxed mix!

That said, I do feel that the flavor of the ice cream cake as a whole would have been better had I been able to use fresh peaches blended into vanilla ice cream. Nothing beats sweet, juicy bites of peach for taste and color. Another option, and perhaps one that would have been closer to what a peach melba dessert would actually taste like, would be to have only two main layers (one cake, one peach ice cream) separated by a thin layer of raspberry preserves. However, this dessert went over quite well with my family – lots of compliments and some second helpings, too.

Happy birthday, Mom! Let me know if you think I should try this dessert for you another time!

Leave a Reply

