National Blueberry Muffin Day!

As far back as I can remember, my parents have had four blueberry bushes marking the border between their front yard and that of the neighbors’. When I was small, so were the harvests. Beginning in my high school years, the bushes produced enough fruit that my siblings and I were called upon to help pick berries in July and August. I preferred to go out to the bushes by myself in the evening, when the neighbor’s house cast its shadow over the bushes. I would sit in the cool grass and pluck the frosted navy berries. There would be enough to supply my dad’s habit of blueberries on his morning cereal, but that was about it. In recent years, however, my parents have been inundated with bumper crops of blueberries and they simply cannot use them all. Right now in fact, we’ve got about 6 cups of blueberries in the fridge and we still have a bush and a half to finish picking. In a few days, more fruit will be ripe and the process will start all over again. My dad jokingly calls it “Klineberry farms.”

When I realized it was National Blueberry Muffin Day (Thanks to the Foodimentary – National Food Holidays blog on WordPress), I decided to celebrate with a new recipe for blueberry muffins. I came across a recipe that swore to be the Best Blueberry Muffins on Food.com. Since I’ve had good luck with recipes there before, I chose to give it a try. Check it out here: http://www.food.com/recipe/the-best-blueberry-muffins-50719

I made two adjustments to the recipe. First, I reduced the sugar from 1 cup to ¾ cup. I also chose to modify the topping slightly. Instead of ¼ teaspoon nutmeg, I used just a dash and added ½ tsp cinnamon. Nutmeg is a delicate spice that should add a subtle, pleasant note to your dish, not jump in your face begging for attention.

Happily, the adjustments meant that all of your attention is directed at the blueberries. As I filled the muffin tins, I couldn’t help but feel that the batter was more blueberry than muffin, but in the end I liked how chock-full of fruit these muffins were. The texture was very light as well, which I liked for a muffin to accompany breakfast or for a snack. These may not work as well for breakfast if you like something substantial. On a less positive note, the muffin itself was a little bland. Perhaps I should have left the nutmeg as the recipe was written or added a crumble topping. But all in all, my family and I enjoyed our little celebration of National Blueberry Muffin Day.

Leave a Reply

